Choosing a crimindal defense lawyer who has been in the courtroom, fought against criminal charges, and takes the time to learn the details of your criminal case is vital in defending any charges you’re facing.
Today, we are taking a look at the top 7 types of criminal cases that are filed in Cedar Rapids:
If you’re convicted of an OWI charge, you’ll most likely serve your time in jail. The court cannot suspend the mandatory minimum jail term for an OWI offense. The state of Iowa will require you obtain a substance abuse evaluation and attend any treatment that is recommended so be sure to hire an attorney to help you with your OWI case.
If you are convicted of possession of some kind of controlled substance (i.e. marijuana, cocaine, meth, or heroin) you will be facing mandatory jail time. If you are convicted of delivery or manufacturing drugs, you will be facing prison time. Drug sentences are serious.
Theft charges depend on the severity of the case. The value of the goods or money stolen is what changes the degree or level of charges. They are as follows:
- First Degree: Value stolen exceeds $10,000
- Second Degree: Value stolen is between $1,000 and $10,000
- Third Degree: Value stolen is between $500 and $1,000
- Fourth Degree: Value stolen is between $200 and $500
- Fifth Degree: Value stolen is less than $200
Criminal Mischief is what you are charged with when you damage someone’s property. Criminal Mischief charges depend on the severity of the case as well. The cost to fix or replace the damaged goods is what changes the degree or level of charges. They are as follows:
- First Degree: Damage exceeds $10,000
- Second Degree: Damage is between $1,000 and $10,000
- Third Degree: Damage is between $500 and $1,000
- Fourth Degree: Damage is between $200 and $500
- Fifth Degree: Damage is less than $200
The state of Iowa issues burglary charges that range from First Degree to Third Degree. The charges depend on whether there were people in the building/structure at the time and if the defendant possessed a weapon at the time or if someone was hurt during the burglary.
Sexual abuse charges depend on a lot of factors. Before issuing charges, the state of Iowa considers the age of the victim, the age of the perpetrator, and the type of abuse that took place. It was put into law in July of 1995 that all individuals convicted of a “sex offense” must register with the county as part of the statewide sex offender registry.
Domestic assault cases run the gamut because the charges really depend on the injury involved. Domestic assault charges are essentially the same as any other assault charge, however, the biggest factor that plays a role is the relationship between the defendant and the victim.
Work with an Attorney that Has Your Back
Are you facing fines or criminal charges in Cedar Rapids, Iowa? Do you know someone who may need the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Cedar Rapids? Protect your rights. Send Cory Goldensoph a message today or call him at 319-364-5525.